Beyond the Sling

I just read this book: “Beyond the Sling” by Mayim Bialik, and I really liked it. She follows the Attachment Parenting philosophy, which I love. She does everything a little bit “more” than I think I’d want to… such as: she breastfed her kids until they were 3 (I think she is still breast-feeding the 3 year old), she still co-sleeps with both of her boys and the oldest is 5, she’s a vegan (nope, I’d never do this), she practices elimination communication (I had never even heard of this, it is crazy!… but I want to read the book about it as I’m very curious how this works), she wears her babies everywhere, and some other things.

I love breastfeeding and I even love the idea of extended breastfeeding, because it is just so healthy for babies and there are studies showing that continuing to breastfeed a child until 2 or 3 years is very beneficial for them and the mother. But, I don’t think I could do it that long, we’ll see. Maybe 1.5 years, maybe 2? I don’t know, I’ll plan for 1 and see how it goes after that. 3 years? Probably not. I’d like to have a 2nd baby by then anyways, so I don’t know if I could do both.

I love co-sleeping and it eliminated all sleep problems with our newborn instantly. She immediately started sleeping all night long and only waking to nurse. I immediately started sleeping better as well and haven’t had a bad night of sleep since she was 3 days old. (Those first 3 days with trying to put her in a crib = no sleep for anyone.) I never thought I’d co-sleep because of all the mainstream misrepresentation about it, but on day 3 of Eva I did a massive amount of research on babies and sleep and realized how wrong I was and how beneficial, natural and healthy co-sleeping is for babies and mommas. Here’s a good post about co-sleeping and another one on how co-sleeping is very important for newborns. All that being said, I won’t be doing it until my child is 5 as the author is. Safe co-sleeping is ideal and I would say the only way you should sleep with your newborn baby who physically needs to be next to his momma for the first 3 or 4 months. After 6 to 9 months babies are more able to soothe themselves and it isn’t as vital.

No need to discuss being a vegan, it’s not going to happen. I love yogurt and eggs too much.

Elimination communication is apparently the practice of studying your baby to learn the signs and cues he makes before he is going to eliminate [poop, if you aren’t familiar :)] and then taking him to the toilet to do his business. Apparently, if you become good at this, your baby does not ever need to wear a diaper and potty training is eliminated. I had never heard of this in my life and it sounds crazy, but I’ll probably read the book to see how they do it. I know they use sign language when the child is able in order for them to sign for potty so their parent can take them. I imagine this is a 24 hour job to be alert to every grimace or sound the baby makes to predict a poop, but maybe it’s worth it after you get the hang of it.

The last thing I mentioned was wearing babies. I have 3 baby carriers: Maya Sling, Ergo Baby Carrier and Moby Wrap. I was given 2 and bought 1, so I love wearing Eva around the house, but I can only keep her in a carrier happily for a max of 30 minutes until she is tired of the position or something and wants to get out. So, it’s sorta inconvenient because of having to get the wrap/sling on and prepared, then put her in, then just 30 minutes later having to take her out. I don’t want her to be in there unless she’s comfortable so at any time she seems like she doesn’t like it, I take her out. So, I really wish she loved it and I could carry her like that all day because it’s so comfortable and awesome to have her up high near me so she can see what I’m doing and I can talk to her while using both hands. So, maybe she’ll like it more when she has total neck control and her legs are more straight. Perhaps she’d “sit” better in it. I’ll keep trying as she gets bigger.

Those are several of the parenting ideas/habits she discussed and I thought it was very interesting to read such a different parenting book. I’ve read a lot of books but nothing from someone with such different practices. She also home-schools her kids and doesn’t plan to ever let them watch television or movies. I love those ideas. Television is such a waste of time and really influences kids to be massive consumers so I don’t plan to show Eva any television, not even educational shows. She will learn much more from interacting with people, reading books, and playing with blocks. At least those are my thoughts right now.

2 Comments to “Beyond the Sling”

  1. Alina,az 4eta avtoprevod na tvoite prekrasni spodeleni misli.Kakto vinagi te admiriram za tvoite idei i jelaq Eva da vi nosi samo radost i shtastie!

    Da, nqma TV koqto da e polzna,oshte pove4e za\deca!!!

  2. I want to know what Dimityr said?? Danail interpret, please

Leave a Reply

