Archive for October 15th, 2013

10/15/2013

How Should I Organize my Files?

DSC_5855

I’m living surrounded by boxes lately, since our condo has been delayed again until November, maybe December. I’m also trying to organize things as I pack them to be ready to move, whenever that might be. I can’t figure out what to do with these files. This is the old large filing cabinet of my dad’s above that I’ve been using the last few years and I won’t be taking it with me. I’m only using one drawer for files. I had other office supplies stored in the other drawers but I have packed those things away.

I bought these file boxes at Ikea to try:

DSC_5854

…but I don’t know if I like them because I can’t see anything. I thought it would be fine for something like taxes that I probably will only look at once a year, but anything else, like medical files, I’d have to take the whole box down, and basically take everything out in order to find the one piece of paperwork I might need. They might look nice on a shelf and then I thought I could eliminate a filing cabinet piece of furniture, but it doesn’t seem easy to use, so I might need to find something else.

The rectangle boxes might be alright, like I put all my electronic wires and adapters in a box labeled electronics, which would be fine, but if I have other boxes stacked on top that makes it hard to get to, and I don’t like things that are hard to get to so I’m back at the beginning with trying to find something that looks nice but also is easy to use.

I might go back to a filing cabinet idea and then use these file boxes for refill paper or labels that I only need to access when I need to restock my printer or something. If I go back to a filing cabinet, I’ll need to find a small one that perhaps can roll away into a closet or under a desk.